The vision of the Governing Body at Great Dunmow Primary School is to ensure that each and every child has the opportunity to thrive and achieve their potential at Great Dunmow Primary School. This is achieved through a combination of excellent teaching, accurate assessment and a creative, enquiry-based curriculum, as well as opportunities to build children’s confidence through participation in music, drama and sports activities. This is achieved, in turn, by ensuring that each and every member of staff, whether a school leader, a teacher or a support member of staff, is supported, developed and encouraged to fulfil their own potential.

The vision is underpinned by the school’s core values of honesty, effort and respect. We work in an inclusive partnership with parents and the wider community to create a school that is distinctive and special.

Our school motto, “To Strive for Excellence in Learning and All that We Do” underlines the aims of the school to be fully inclusive and work as a team to ensure the best possible experiences and outcomes for every single child.

Governors are responsible for overseeing the management aspects of the school. They enable their school to run as effectively as possible, acting as a critical friend to the Headteacher and Senior Leaders. Governors are required to be familiar with and use objective data on the performance of pupils, teachers and finances, to ask the right questions and ensure resources are allocated to school priorities. 

The whole Governing Body meets on at least two occasions each term. The first one of these is a Committee Day. There are four committees, Finance, Premises, Curriculum and Personnel, each with its own Chairperson. The committees look in detail at their different areas of responsibility, probing and questioning the school as well as facilitating solutions. 

The second day has a strategic focus with Governor involvement in planning for the future. The Full Governing Body Meeting holds the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils. 

Strategic Review Committee meetings are held when required to discuss the vision and future actions of the Governing Body. 

 Subject leaders attend Governing Body meetings for question and answer sessions. This enables Governors to monitor the progress of subject development plans. Governors also meet with Phase Leaders (Key Stage 1 and Key Stage 2). 

All Governors are appointed subject to the approval of the Full Governing Body. Essex County Council are notified of all appointments. The Governing Body for Great Dunmow Primary School is constituted to have 9 governors (3 parent governors, 1 Local Authority governor, 1 staff governor, 2 partnership governors, 1 co-opted governor and the Headteacher). There are currently also 2 associate members who assist the Governing Body in an advisory capacity, but have no voting rights.   We currently have a vacancy for a Local Authority Governor on our Governing Body.

The Chair of the Governing Body or the Clerk can be contacted via the school office. 



Governor Membership 2021/2022


Dr Christine Hemming                                                                      Chair / Partnership Governor

Kevin Watts                                                                                           Headteacher                                                               

Sannelie Gallichan                                                                              Parent Governor/Vice-Chair     

Olivia Matthews                                                                                    Partnership Governor        

Jo Marshall                                                                                            Co-Opted Governor  

John Thornton                                                                                      Parent Governor         

Simon Ellis                                                                                              Parent Governor                                   

Kate Flynn                                                                                               Staff Governor

Jo Hayes                                                                                                  Associate Member

 Kylie Robinson                                                                                     Associate Member 


                                                                  Governor List correct as of May 2022

Register of Business Interests

Governor Attendance 2021/2022

Governor Roles and Responsibilities